Uncensored… Unfiltered… Motherhood 

I literally just took this picture and I want to tell you why and what it means to me. I’m sure the first thing you notice are the light colored stains on my black shirt. That’s food and spit up. My hair is a mess. My face is oily because I’ve been sweating all day. I have dark circles under and around my eyes. My brows aren’t done so they look like 2 fury caterpillars made a home right on my face. You can see all of that, but what you don’t see is a mom of 2 young girls who finished her first week at her new job. A woman who is getting back on her feet after being knocked down too many times. An individual who lost herself in the process of mother-and-wifey-hood. What you don’t see is the struggles I went through and continue to go through, the fight I’m fighting, the battle I feel like I’m losing. The contentment and peace I feel in the midst of the chaos that is my life. The feeling of discovery of myself and the serenity of knowing I pulled myself out of the darkest place I have ever felt I was in. How freeing that feeling is…. What you see is what I want you to see. I want to show the light at the end of the tunnel. I want to share my struggles and battles and how I overcame them. I know it won’t be the last because I’m still young enough to make mistakes, but wise enough to learn from them and to do my absolute best to not repeat my past mistakes. I am an imperfect human, but loved unconditionally. 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

